PowerShell In GUI Blog

PowerShell GUI Box Just In A Few Clicks

A LinkedIn user’s manifesto

leave a comment »

Today, I wanted again to endorse a person’s skills. Again, I failed miserably: if you are not connected to a person, no skills can be endorsed. Id est, there are no skilled people outside your network? Or a person can’t be skilled if he/she is not a friend of you? A book, you have just read and enjoyed, it’s not yet a reason to set a plus to the author’s skills, only ‘connected authors’ are skillful.

We users, who else, should say that LinkedIn has flaws in the network logic. I sent the following letter:

Hello,
I have 495 connections and LinkedIn says that the limit of invitations is applied. Okay, could you DECREASE the limit to 2900 invitations (instead of 3000 that every LinkedIn user is born with)?

It seems to me that some restrictions of LinkedIn are not well set up. For example, I want to check people’s skills, those who
- wrote free open-source products or frameworks that I use with pleasure
- wrote great technical books that I enjoyed
- share cutting-edge technical information via blogging, twittering, etc
Isn’t it strange that I should be in contact personally with the author of a book or a framework to clearly show to others that I admire his/her skills?
Is a book or a framework a bit worse if I’m not acquainted with the author?
This restriction is merely nonsense. Are you afraid of the possibility that I’ll be marking every and each’s skills? I could mark all my connections, had I wanted so.

Another point of view is about the point where people obtain technical information. My connections share blog posts, tweets, re-tweets, interesting pages. By limiting me (or a user of yours), what the purpose you are going to achieve? To force people collect and absorb information outside LinkedIn?

Well, protecting from salesmen and similar folks is a necessity. I was asked by three, or four, or even terrifying five people to buy a chair or a software product, or about some sponsoring. Excellent, without your security I could be asked for something ten of more times, thanks for your work.

Again, what’s about my limit? 495 connections is not the number that should prevent me from initiating new connections.

Alexander

Written by Alexander Petrovskiy

December 29, 2012 at 12:33 am

Posted in Powershell

Tagged with

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 117 other followers

